Home | History | Events | Tickets

The first Superbowl was held on January 15th, 1967 at Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum. The teams that were competing were the Green Bay Packers and the Kansas City Chiefs.

Green Bay Packers in the First Superbowl

The Green Bay Packers won 35-10.

In the 1960's, there were two football leagues- the National Football League (NFL) and the American Football Leage (AFL). The winners of the two league's championships met each year in a single game to determine the "world champion of football."

Postseason college football games were called "bowl" games, and AFL founder Lamar Hunt suggested the championship game be called the "Super Bowl." The term was officially introduced in the year of 1969.

One year later, the NFL and AFL merged into one league with two conferences. Since then, the Super Bowl has been a competition between the winners of the NFL and the AFL for the NFL championship and the Vince Lombardi Trophy. The trophy was named after the Legendary Packers coach.

Last year, the teams that were in the super bowl were the Colts and the Saints.

The team that won last year's super bowl was the Saints with a victory of 31-17 over the Colts.

And this year, the teams competing were the Packers and the Steelers.

The Packers won 31-25 over the Steelers.









© Kari Spangler & Tyler Orme 2011